Yorke Penninsular KI Trip Report Part 2

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:08
ThreadID: 40285 Views:3912 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Good day all

Some of you may remember that the York Penninsular 4WD club took a journey/trip to KI in October 2006.

I posted the lead up to that trip in post 38898 and promised part 2 of same at a later date.

Well here it is.

Before you read it though I must say I had a terrific time there with the group regardless of the 'evil happenings'. (LOL)

Read on:

Day one on the Island at the camp site.

Well by the time I finally get set up its dark and those porta-power packs that were supposed to be packed and were in fact still in Melbourne in the place where I wouldn’t ‘forget them’.

That side of things was just another disaster to contend with (how bad is this trip going to get).

I am thinking – its dark, about 9.00pm, everyone else has setup and eaten and now drinking. Hmmmmmm! What to do for tea. A stubby will have to do.

Then I hear ‘would you like to join us for tea’ ( Mrs Muddy Doe)

It took me 0.00000000001 of a second to say yes and all was sweet. (Thank you Mrs Muddy)

Have a few beers by the fire and crash into bed after two days of travelling hell (LOL – well now I do anyway).

BANG! CRACK!, SNAP! – wide awake about 1.30am and its blowing a gale.

B l o o d y hell – struggle out in the nude running around like a cut snake battening down the hatches so to speak, then realise that the full moon that I can see like day by, is also showing off my ‘bitz’ to all and sundry.

Next morning our Captain/President/Trip Leader is running around in a tizz asking anyone and everyone - have you got an angle grinder.

Turns out he has one of these new fan dangle aluminium Hawse’s for his new Amsteel Blue plasma winch rope, and it won’t fit on his poxy Nissan B-Bar without a tad of ‘adjustment’. It therefore follows (in his mind) that no ali hawse means no plasma rope being fitted. You can just imagine the state he is in by 10.00am.

Anyway as I have one of the aforementioned Hawse’s fitted and a an Amsteel Blue plasma rope fitted along with the appropriate hammer-lok, and with a angle grinder on board he finally resorts to tormenting me with his problem/s. (I am last on his list cause of the Toyota/Nissin thing)

A quick inspection by a Toyota owner/driver (myself) of the offending Nissan disaster determined that a little ‘bending’ of the B-Bar projections would suffice, which I did for him.

Why me – cause wouldn’t you know it, he had such a good time in the ‘ultimate’ the night before , he has allegedly pulled a muscle or ricked his back and is walking around like a cripple. Others swear blind the Ultimate was a ‘knocking and a rocking’ during the night but good old Roachie was full of denials. (as usual)

Back to the Hawse – Its thicker than the fairlead it replaced so the bolts don’t fit do they. Well did that cause some angst, but not to worry has I had a spare set from when I fitted mine and that was something I didn’t leave in Melbourne.

Job’s right, all done and now we have to put the rope on.

The ‘captain’ was placed in his drivers seat to operate winch and stear the ‘thing’. I fitted the rope to the winch barrel and then hooked it to Muddy Does TOYOTA Prado as a winch point, to give it some tension to wind it on the winch nice and tight and neatly.

Site Link

Yes Trendsetters that’s me guiding the rope onto the barrel so there is no uneven build up etc etc.

Yes! there is No rope damper or gloves, and if you don’t know why then don’t bother asking cause I am not explaining.

By the end of the first day in camp we have all settled in and I have my gear functioning in a usable fashion whilst compiling a list of things ‘to do’ when I get back to Melbourne.

Camp Photo

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/ken_3149/album/576460762365884928

Next day our Intrepid Commander rounds up the troops and off we go to the Eucalypt still/factory and Honey Farm.

Good trip had by all.

Weeeeeeeeeeeeel when we get back this is what our Intrepid Commander discovered.

Site Link

Man! Can he delegate – blame that is. Yep! One of the kids wore that one, and here’s me under the false impression that the ‘buck’ stops with the
Commander/Captain/King/President etc. Ooooo no!, not in the Roach nest.

The wind is still blowing a gale mind you.

That night at the camp fire, everyone around and I am standing in the vicinity of Pesty when I hear a R I P P I N G sound. Damn! One of those tents must have let go.

Nup! You guessed it, Pesty had an internal pressure that was greater than the outside atmospheric pressure. Whatever affected Pesty obviously was catching cause Roachie came down big time with the same ailment. Thank goodness it was blowing a gale. (whatever caused it lasted all week and the ladies never batted an eye)

Next day we are tooling around the Nth West coast sight seeing when Mrs Roach chases me up for a couple of AA batteries for the NEW digital camera. I had a pack of those if nothing else. Supply the 2AA’s and make a note of same. What are you doing she ask’s – Oh1 just making a note or two for future reference on the forum.

Fair dinkum she went purple and tried to give them back. No way Jose’, just a another nail in the ‘missin-nissan’ drivers coffin (ROFLMAO x 10 by this time)

Later on I enquired how they went (the batteries that is). Roachies son Nick informs they didn’t work so he tested them and they only showed 1.6V each so they must be dud’s. (Like father like son) Later on camera is identified as a DUD.

About day 4 Roachie rounds up the troops minus myself and heads/leads off to seal bay. I have been told and verily believe that it took 3 times as long as it should. Roachie was adamant that some b l o o d y kids had switched the sign posts around causing him to take the ‘scenic route’

By this time I had noticed that Roachie had been called ‘Russell’ a few times so I couldn’t help myself and asked why. Oh! They used to call me ‘Russell Coite’ in the bank at Yass.

(I now know why)

Wind is still blowing and getting stronger.

Next morning I notice Pud in an extremely animated conversation with Roachie and Roachie responding by gesticulating wildly with much pointing and looking into the bush area alongside of the camp.

Well trendsetters, apparently good old Pud arose, exited his Ultimate, stretched and walked into the said bush for his usual morning P e e. Now I have never been to able to ascertain exactly what happened except that the stick he used on previous mornings as an aiming device apparently came to life in the form of a big fat copper head snake.

Didn’t see Pud in the bushes again after that.

Fair dinkum they talk about fisherman stories – well by the time we left KI that snake was the mother of all Anaconda’s.

Wind getting stronger.

Next Day most head off to visit another lighthouse and I get myself ready to test out my new tricked up winch as well as visit an animal farm up the road.

About 11.00am as I am about to drive off the wind doubles. Tents are flying, Shower tents are twisting and ripping and chairs are blowing. So I try and secure what I can as best I can when thump! Alongside of lands Roachies shower tent. (Not his doing this time).

However during the light house visit the troops pull up for lunch when across the radio waves comes the admission – Help! I forgot the bread to make the lunch sandwiches

Yep! It’s the ,Captain & Tennile’ at the centre of things again, with good old Toyota driving Pesty to the fore, and rescued them with a spare loaf of bread. Must have been like Jesus on the mount.

At night around the fire I had notice that Roachie disappeared about 8.30-9.00pm and didn’t reappear. So I put him under surveillance and right on que along comes youngest son Zac about the 8.30pm on the mark and asks his dad to take him down to the CT to go bed.

Guess what! Pesty is on the ball and has also twigged to this, and asks the question – how did you train Zac to do that Roachie. Again, strenuous denials.

Bushfires erupt about this time and KI is covered in smoke. Pesty, Muddy and another gentleman who are all members of the SA equivalent of the Victorian CFA head to town and volunteer their services. (and they did a great job I might add)

The word is that the fires are miles away, no danger to us and just keep our ear to the ground so to speak. I am at the Pandana Pub about 4.00pm and run into one of our fellow campers who tells me that our Captain is agitated and rounding up the ‘wagon train’ for a quick exit due to the fires. So back to camp I head through fauna that was decamping from farms bush etc etc due to the upsurge of smoke. Matter of fact, so dense in places had to slow to a crawl.

It turned out to be a wind shift that just dumped a chit load of smoke all over us, frightening the bejesus out of the wild fauna. ( and Roachie).

Why was I at the pub – well after day (1) and the issue with shower hose lengths, plus the wind belting the absolute chit out of the shower and toilet tents I came to the conclusion there HAS to be a better deal out there somewhere.

So I just enquired at the pub - did they have showers for public use for a fee. Yes Sir we do $2.00.

So from then on everyday about the 4-5.00pm mark I called past the pub and indulged in a red hot shower for as long as I wanted to plus the use of the toilets etc etc.

As a matter of fact the owner (nice lady) decided that seeing as how I was one of those ‘fire-fighters’ from the main land I could use the facilities for free.

Now the icing on the cake of the trip was the second last day Roachie is hovering over the Troopy with its bonnet up looking at things and makes the remarkable statement to the following effect:

‘Look at the size of that air box, beats that p i s s y thing on the Nissan and look how they have run the dump pipe and exhaust down the side and not down the middle in the way of everything like on the Nissan’

I am a tad stunned by this and respond with a weak – well get a Toyota.

He replies I think I should have. End of conversation re same.

Next day on the return ferry I tell Pesty this about this and he says – Oh! Yeah he has told me that he wished he had bought a 100 series instead of the GU and I never let him forget it.

Now other than our intrepid leader being the centre of attention ( as he should) I had a fantastic time on KI, met a lot really nice new people wouldn’t have missed it for quids, despite all the dramas I personally had with equipment etc.

Recommend KI to anyone.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:56

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:56
Ummmmm!!! A small question springs to mind, Why did Russell stick his camp chair in the fire????

AnswerID: 209934

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:24

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:24
John, it was left behind by one of the children, and whilst we were away, a gust of wind must have blown it into the fire.You didnt mention in your trip report Ken about your daily trips to the honey farm????
Regards Annette
FollowupID: 469967

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:49

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:49
lol............kids do have their uses!!!

Cya
MOH
FollowupID: 469972

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:54

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:54
Hi Ken

Second edition is every bit as good as the first installment! Thanks for a good read and a great laugh. It was our pleasure to have you eat with us.

Hopefully we can all meet again for another group camping trip.

Cya
Mrs Muddy
AnswerID: 209949

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:13

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:13
Okay Mr Namby Pamby "LUCY".........you're gunna pay for all those lies and mistruths.......NO MORE ANZAC BIKKIES FOR YOU YOUNG MAN!!!!!!! So there!!!!!!

I don't think I've EVER read such a one-eyed load of claptrap in my entire 40 years on this planet!

Lucy conveniently omits to embellish his trials and tribulations with the Toyota Droopcarrier.....like how, most days, he could not accompany us to the various places on the island that involved any gravel roads; cos the said Droopy can't handle dust!!! (We already know what happens if it gets within about a kilometer of ANYTHING even resembling "WATER"......the dash board lights up like a christmas tree!!!). I think the droopy has been scared-off from gravel roads after it had an "incident" on a nice smooth stretch of road up Tibooburra direction.....it hit a 3 inch deep rut in the road and the front end fell off, necessitating a total re-build. I don't know why he bothered really; shudda just went out and bought a Patrol. hahahahaha
AnswerID: 209952

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:35

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:35
Knowing both of you and your respective occupations, I believe you Lucy.
As a matter of fact, we had an interclub trip on the weekend with the said YP4WD Club AND their fearless leader thought it was too hot for Puss Bucket1 to drag the Ultimate down the hill to the beach to join his club mates and us for a weekend.
He actually rocks up in Puss Bucket .5 (only cos its got a decent donk in it) just as we are about to decamp on Sunday and still complaining about a crook back. Explained that the back problems is caused by the Missing seating and Yota seats don't cause such problems.
When will he ever learn.
AnswerID: 209970

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 15:49
Anyone have a 20 words or less version? CBF reading all that
AnswerID: 209979

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:05

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:05
Yep!

Education is a wonderful thing.
FollowupID: 470003

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:09

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:09
Hi Truckie

Plenty of lies, good times/laughing, great destination, wonderful group of campers, nice campfire and all in 20 words.

Cya
Muddy's Other Half
FollowupID: 470005

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 18:59
Bruce, see how Ms Lucy is into talking about faking relationships now. One would have to guess it isn't with Diedre and is more like the Jeepney thingie......
FollowupID: 470033

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 19:27

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 19:27
Hmmmmmm. I must have been on another trip. And thankyou oh god of honey icecream. :)
AnswerID: 210006

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 19:35

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 19:35
Hey Brew, no worries mate.....YOU were on the same trip as the rest of us.........it was LUCY that was on another trip (and I wish he'd share some of whatever it was that he was "trippin" on................oh, I just worked it out, it must have been the honey ice-cream that caused his halucinations ......... hahahaha).

Oh dear, if only that honey ice-cream had made him see the light and get rid of the droopy and the jeepney so that he could get behind the wheel of a GREAT truck (Patrol of course!!!!)
FollowupID: 470037

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:54
Great report Lucy,
Once you sift thru the untruths that is....Roachie wanting a Toy instead of the Nissan....come on that wasn't even close to believable LOL
Sounds like everyone had a ball.
AnswerID: 210017

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:02

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:02
I missed the earlier pose - where did you camp? Looks like a nice spot.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 210098

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:18

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:18
Hi Pete,
We camped in a paddock by the Cygnet River on a farm on Stoakes Bay Road. It was a lovely spot.We had green pasture in front of us and natural vegetation behind us.At night you could hear the koalas 'growl'. There were plenty of sheep,they kept their distance at first, but towards the end of the week they got closer to our campers. It didnt take long for the pasture to dry out and it probably didnt help having 12 or 13 cars and campers parked on its edges.Having said that though,I for one feel very grateful to the owners who let us stay there free of charge.
If you have never been to Kangaroo Island you must go and see it,it really is a great place to see,especially if you have children.You will see koalas,goannas,kangaroos,seals,cape barron geese,penguins and echidnas all in there natural habitat.One day we were heading back to camp and a koala crossed the road in front of us and on another day we watched an echidna cross the road.Some friends of ours who were on the same trip watched kangaroos mating on the road in front of them! The beaches are good too, we spent a day at stoakes bay swimming.There really is a lot to see and do on Kangaroo Island.So if time allows and the budget too, DO IT!!
FollowupID: 470113

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:51

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:51
All that and Kangaroo porn too!

We have been to Ki and enjoyed it. We weren't thrilled about the roads though, we were there just before the annual grading.

It is certainly a lovely spot. We camped at the West KI Caravan Park and also enjoyed lots of wildlife:

!MPG:15!

The Tamars were that thick at night you had to be careful not to trip over them.

(And yes, I know that solar panels don't work in the dark - I just hadn't shifted it since sunset)

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 470119

Reply By: navaraman - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:16

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:16
Nice report Lucy, but all I see is another pic of a yota on the end of a Nissan's winch.

Patrolman Pat.
AnswerID: 210216

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:19

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:19
Well picked-up there Pat...hahahaha
FollowupID: 470216